The Maze Runner Review

One word to describe this movie? – Holy Shit! That’s right, one word couldn’t cut it.

Now, I know you might be thinking that I’m biased because of Dylan O’Brien (see my Teen Wolf Review), and you are absolutely correct because my boy can act! I haven’t read the book as yet so what you’re getting now is my impression without any expectations.

It started off with a bang, giving this aura of excitement and fear of the unknown. My boy Dylan aka Thomas, has woken up with no recollection of anything besides his name. He finds himself in a field surrounded by walls which make up a maze and a band of boys. The boys have made a mini society with everyone responsible for something in order to earn their keep and to keep the peace. Thomas is intrigued by the maze despite the risks and finds himself wanting to be a runner whose job is to try to map every aspect of the maze in an attempt to find a way out. On Thomas’s arrival things start going south.. and despite how badly I want to tell you what happens, I can’t be that douche, you’d have to watch it to find out.

What I can tell you however, is that this movie had me on the edge of my seat. It gave that adrenaline rush and the events of the movie were not predictable at all. It was all new ideas and very unique while secretly addressing deep rooted issues like how society is run in the real world if one is able to pick up on the subtle comparisons.

Summary : Great adventure combination with action film! Excellent acting and the way the film is shot is beautifully done as well.

Rating : 8/10

Leave a Reply

