Gut

It wasn’t like the rest

I almost didn’t give you the time of day

I paused, I decided to stop being shallow and follow my gut

My gut saw intelligence

My gut was grasping at straws

My gut is always right

You told me all the things I needed to hear while I picked up all the pieces of my life

You called me beautiful

But my foundation was unstable

Like a house of cards, ready to be swept away by any sudden gust of wind

I didn’t play any games

I was rash and crude and I refused to be anything other than myself

I thought it would drive you away

But it created unexpected familiarity and intimacy

I put you at the back of my mind

But you fought, you were relentless

I found myself missing you when you were gone and craving the smile that played upon my lips when I saw your name

Leave a Reply

